Selection process

Thank you for your interest in MSF. Below you will find a general guide to the selection process for all overseas roles we recruit for.

Step 1: Information Gathering

 

Before applying, please take the time to learn about the field worker profile you would like to apply for and the general information about working overseas. If your background and experience does not match with the available field positions, you might want to consider working as an office volunteer [link to office volunteer page].

 

General criteria for working in the field

Experience
At least 2 years professional experience in your field of expertise.
 
Availability
Available for 6 months. There are exceptions for surgical related professionals, who may be accepted for shorter missions. Preference will be given to candidates who are ready to make a long-term commitment and consider a career within the MSF international movement.
 
Ability to live and work as a team
MSF field workers live and work together. The hours are long and the living conditions may be primitive and offer little privacy. It is essential that field workers are tolerant, flexible and willing to interact with people of all nationalities and cultures.
 
Experience in developing countries
The vast majority of MSF projects are in the developing world. Previous work experience in the developing world is particularly desirable.
 
Ability to manage stress
Field workers must be able to cope with a difficult and unpredictable environment, and adapt to the local culture, living conditions, security regulations and team dynamics.
 
Flexibility
Situations can change quickly in the field. Work tasks, departure dates, team composition and working environments may change during assignments. Flexibility is critical to one's success on an MSF project.
 
Language skills
Fluency in English. Fluency in French (Level B1 or above) is not essential but it does give more opportunities for placement.
 
Tropical medicine courses
Medical doctors with clinical experience on tropical diseases and/or a diploma in tropical medicine are highly valued. However, this is not a mandatory requirement.
 
Willingness to work in high security settings

MSF works in places where there can be extreme violence and constant conflict. Field workers need to be sure they are willing to be sent on missions to places like this.

 

Life on a mission

Security
Your safety comes first. In most places, MSF's neutrality and the trust it builds with communities serve as an invisible but powerful shield. To help avoid or cope with dangerous situations, all field workers receive an overall security briefing prior to a mission, followed by additional context specific briefings upon arrival. Your managers are constantly monitoring the dangers and there are clear local rules to help protect staff. But this is everyone’s responsibility and you have to be alert and conscientious yourself.  

Cultural experience
Working in the field with MSF may be very different from anything you have previously experienced. You will work alongside local staff, where they might have different approach in dealing with health problems. So keeping an open mind and be flexible would definitely help!  

Living conditions
MSF often operates in low-resource settings hence the living conditions are mostly basic. You could be riding motorbikes on bumpy roads for hours to reach a remote clinic; walking on muddy roads in rainy seasons for vaccination campaigns; having to go to bed at 9 pm because the generator is going to be turned off to save electricity etc.  
 
Teamwork
The international team is composed of medical and non-medical field workers, working hand in hand with local staff. Success in the field requires excellent flexibility, cultural and social sensitivity as well as interpersonal skills. Coping with diverse and sometimes dangerous situations, both on the job and after-hours, requires teamwork – a crucial element of MSF's structure and effectiveness.
 
Coping with stress
The working pace in the field is usually very fast. So imagine yourself being new to MSF, the environment and all the people, at the same time as pushing yourself hard. It is perfectly normal to feel nervous about managing all that. So learning about your own limits and coping with stress is very important.
 
Peer Support Network 
A Peer Support network (PSN), which all MSF HK field workers can use, was formed as an online platform for personal support and information sharing between members. It allows experienced field workers to help new recruits, as well as providing an avenue for returning field workers to share their stories and feelings. This platform is also used by the Field Human Resource department to tell members about the developments of HR policies, trends and vacancies within the movement.

 

What we offer

MSF packages reflect the humanitarian spirit of volunteerism as well as recognising the high professional levels that we require.
 
They include:

  • Round trip economy air travel;
  • Accommodation and transportation during your contract (including briefings and debriefings);
  • Monthly indemnity approximately EURO 1,328;
  • Field per diem allowance in local currency based on the cost of living in your project country;
  • Insurance covering health, luggage, professional liability, repatriation, accidents and flights;
  • Pre- and post- mission health checks.

Career with MSF
 

Working for MSF is a challenging and rewarding personal and professional experience that allows you to help people in a very real way. So even if you do it just once, you will get a lot out of it. And your future employers will benefit from your new confidence and management skills. But MSF encourages field workers to continue working for the organisation beyond their first mission because you have become even more valuable to us as well. 

We offer a range of career opportunities to our field workers. Gaining more and varied MSF field experience makes you eligible for coordination positions in the mission such as Logistical, Human Resources, Finance, Medical, or Project Coordinator, or Head of Mission.

 

Join us for a live briefing

We organise information and recruitment sessions periodically  in the region, where experienced field workers talk about their lives and work in the field. Feel free to join us, and stay  tuned for our next event on our website and social media.

 

 

Step 2: Application

After checking on our requirements and thinking hard about your suitability , are you ready to begin your journey with us? The “Apply” button is at the bottom of each of the field worker profile pages. Other forms of application (e.g. via email) are not accepted. 

If you do not receive any feedback within 12 weeks, you can assume that your application unsuccessful.  

 

Step 3: Assessment

Shortlisted applicants will be invited for a phone interview, and those who are successful with that will be invited to an assessment centre (AC).  

This is a whole day exercise that involves a face to face interview, team work practice and problem solving based on practical scenarios. 

Applicants for some positions might also be required to take a written test during the AC. We will notify you in advance.

   

Step 4: Field Worker Pool

Following a successful assessment session, you will be accepted onto MSF's field worker pool ready for deployment to an MSF project.

Our ability to find you an assignment depends on our current field project needs, your skills profile, and your availability dates. We prioritise placement of field workers to where the need is greatest, and as such we are unable to accept requests to be placed in a specific location or project.

 

Position Matching

When you are matched to a position, you will be provided with a job description and detailed information regarding the country and project itself. Our Field Human Resources team will be available to answer any questions that you may have about the placement, location or role prior to you accepting the opportunity.

Once accepting and confirm a mission, as a new field worker in MSF pool you will receive a one-week preparation course, known as Preparation for Primary Departure (PPD). 

 

Departure

We will arrange the visa, flights and possible temporary accommodation for you to be able to arrive at project according to the schedule. Medical preparation will be part of your responsibility (vaccine, health check) under MSF coverage. 

On arrival in the field you will be given a full briefing by the in-country team.

招募流程

感謝你有興趣加入無國界醫生的前線隊伍。以下是我們招募海外救援人員職位的甄選程序概覽

步驟一:資料搜集

 

請在正式申請前,先了解你打算申請你職位,以及在海外參與救援工作的基本資料。

 

前線工作的基本要求

 

經驗
擁有兩年或以上的專業工作經驗。
 
參與救援任務的時間
除與外科相關的專業會被派執行較短期的救援工作外,其他所有專業的救援任務為期最少6個月。若申請人有志長期參與無國界醫生的救援工作,並視之為終生職業,將會獲優先考慮。
 
良好的團隊精神
無國界醫生的救援人員一同工作和生活。救援人員互相接觸的時間長,居住環境可能相對落後,私人空間較少。救援人員的包容和彈性,以及願意與不同國籍和文化人士交流是相當重要的。
 
在發展中國家的工作經驗
無國界醫生絕大部分的救援項目都在發展中國家,擁有在這些國家的工作經驗為佳。
 
應付壓力的能力
救援人員必須能夠應付困難和難以預計的情況,以及能夠適應當地文化、生活環境、安全守則和團隊的互動。
 
彈性
前線的工作情況瞬息萬變,在任務期間,工作範疇、離開日期、隊員組合和工作環境都可能隨時變更,你的彈性對能否成功完成救援工作非常重要。
 
語言能力
必須操流利英語,流利法語(B1程度或以上)並非必要,但將有更多機會獲分派工作。
 
熱帶病學課程
我們非常歡迎有熱帶病臨床經驗或/及考獲熱帶病學證書的醫生申請,然而這並非必要條件。
 
願意於高危環境中工作

無國界醫生在可以發生嚴重暴力和恆常衝突的地區工作。救援人員需要確定願意被派遣到這些地方參與救援任務。

 

救援任務的生活

 

安全
你的安全至關重要。在大部分的地方,無國界醫生的中立,以及與社群建立的互信,是一個無形卻又強大的保護盾。為避免和應對危險情況,所有救援人員於出發前,均會接受一個整體安全情況的簡報;在到達工作地點後,會再得到針對個別環境而設的進一步簡報。你的上級會持續監察危險情況,項目也有清晰守則協助保護員工。不過,保持安全也是每個人的責任,你必須警惕盡責。

文化體驗
在救援項目上工作,可能和你以往的經驗非常不同。你會與就醫療問題持不同取向的當地員工一起工作。保持開放的心態和靈活性絕對有幫助。
 
生活環境
我們常於資源有限的地方工作,生活環境很多時候十分基本。若你喜愛運動,可能無法進行你喜愛的運動。然而,你可能因為利用驢隻運送物資來開設流動診所,而獲得鍛煉的機會。你將親身接觸我們的受助者,但你可能需要一名翻譯員來跟他們交談。

團隊工作
我們的國際救援隊由醫療及非醫療救援人員組成,與當地員工攜手合作。救援項目得以成功,講求救援人員的靈活性、敏銳的文化和社會觸角,以及人際技巧。無論是工作或工餘時間,救援人員經常需要面對不同的、甚或是危險的情況,團隊工作往往是令無國界醫生得以有效運作,及達至一個完善架構的關鍵。
 
應付壓力
前線的工作節奏通常十分急速。試想像你作為新加入的救援人員,周遭環境以及所有人都向你施加壓力,要處理好一切而感到緊張正常不過。了解你的極限和應對壓力非常重要。

救援人員互助網絡
救援人員互助網絡是一個網上人際支援和資訊分享平台,所有無國界醫生(香港)的救援人員均可使用。互助網絡讓具經驗的救援人員協助新加入的救援人員。另外,救援人員完成任務後,亦可在互助網絡分享救援故事和感受。前線人力資源部亦會透過互助網絡,向會員提供無國界醫生人力資源的發展、趨勢和空缺。

 

入職待遇

無國界醫生所提供的補助金待遇體現志願工作的人道精神,並肯定救援人員的專業質素。
 
包括:

  • 往返經濟艙機票
  • 合約期內的住宿及交通費用(包括出席任務簡介和匯報會)
  • 每月補助金約 1,328 歐元
  • 根據項目所在地的生活成本,以當地貨幣發放的每月津貼
  • 醫療、行李、職業責任、意外、運返及航空保險
  • 項目前後的身體檢查

 
在無國界醫生工作
無國界醫生的工作極具挑戰,並可以獲得個人和專業經驗,讓你能夠實在地幫助有需要的人。即使只參與一次,你也能獲益甚多,而你將來的僱主亦能受惠於你有所增強的信心和管理技巧。但無國界醫生鼓勵救援人員在完成首個任務後,繼續參與救援工作,因為你對我們也更為重要。

我們為救援人員提供不同的晉升機會。當救援人員積累豐富和不同的前線工作經驗後,將有機會晉升為統籌人員,如後勤統籌、醫療統籌、項目統籌或項目總管。

 

參加我們的簡介

我們在區內定期舉辦資訊和招募講座,具經驗的救援人員會分享他們在前線工作的生活。我們歡迎各位參加,請留意我們的網站和社交媒體公布講座詳情。

 

 

步驟二:申請

了解我們的要求和認真考慮合適度後,你是否已準備好和我們展開救援之旅?「申請」按鈕就在每個救援人員空缺頁面的底部。其他方式的申請(如:電郵申請)恕不接納。

如你在12周內未有收到我們的回覆,即代表申請不成功。

 

步驟三:評核

合適的申請人會獲邀進行電話面試,而通過電話面試者將會獲邀出席評核中心。

出席評核中心為一整天的活動,包括面試、團隊合作練習,以及基於實際情況的解難。

個別職位的申請人可能亦需要在當日進行筆試,我們會就此事先通知你。

   

步驟四:救援人員名單

通過評核中心後,你會獲加入無國界醫生的救援人員名單。我們會視乎前線項目需求、你的技能和可能參與救援任務的時間,開始為你尋找和配對任務。請留意閣下無法選擇前往任務地點,因為前線的需求持續轉變,我們需要在派出救援人員的方式上保持彈性予以配合。

 

職位配對 

當你成功配對前線職位,你會收到工作解說,以及有關任務所在國家和所屬項目的詳細資料。我們的前線人力資源團隊,能在你接受海外工作機會前,解答你有關你獲派出的任務、地區和角色的疑問。 

接受並確認任務後,作為新加入名單的救援人員,你會獲送往參加為期一周的出發前準備課程。 

 

出發 

我們會安排簽證、航班以及可能需要的暫時住宿,以讓你根據預定時間到達項目。安排接種疫苗和身體檢查等醫療準備事宜,則是你需要負責的部分,然而有關費用會由無國界醫生承擔。 

當你到達當地,你會收到國內團隊的完整匯報。