How we spend your money

As an MSF donor, you fuel the delivery of medical aid to the people who need it most, no matter where they are.

Your money pays for millions of consultations, operations, treatments and vaccinations every year. As an organisation, we work to spend your money in the most efficient way and to help those in greatest need. Here is an overview of MSF's lifesaving work in 2020:

 

9,904,200 outpatient consultations
306,800 births assisted, including caesarean sections
1,008,500 people vaccinated against measles
in response to outbreaks
877,300 patients admitted
2,690,600 cases of malaria treated
64,300 severely
malnourished children admitted
to inpatient feeding programmes

 

 

But how do we do it? At MSF we deliver care directly rather than through local partner organisations. We set up and run medical services, train staff and respond to fast-moving emergencies, as well as longer-term crises. This means the money you trust to MSF is spent by MSF.

When you donate to MSF-Hong Kong, the money is banked and then directed to the country where the need is greatest. This is coordinated across the MSF offices and our projects in more than 70 countries.

 

Essential costs

There are essential costs for any organisation and a small percentage of the money we raise – just 4.1 percent as of 2020– is used for office running costs in Hong Kong.

Another 7.8 percent is reinvested in fundraising to keep the money coming in for our medical action. That goes to pay for healthcare.

Every aspect of the way we operate from our Hong Kong office is designed to keep these essential costs low. We rent inexpensive office space, we buy only the lowest fares for travel and stay in budget hotels when travelling abroad.

 

Money for emergencies

When an emergency breaks – such as an earthquake, an epidemic or a conflict – MSF can respond immediately. This is because we encourage donors to give unrestricted funds, which means we can spend them where the need is greatest.

Thanks to the generosity of our donors, MSF has an emergency reserve fund that is usually equivalent to the cost of our activities for a few months. This means there is no delay in mobilising, no wait for government funds to be released and no lag as donation appeals are launched; we can act immediately and then replenish this fund with new, unrestricted donations for future emergencies.

Once the money reaches the medical programmes it is carefully managed by the project team. It is subject to a rigorous accounting system, with every penny logged and all the information flowing back to the headquarters and our donors – transparency and accountability are essential.

We only launch an emergency appeal if we are certain we can spend the money on that specific crisis; there are no asterisks or hidden disclaimers diverting money to other parts of the organisation

 

Allocation of funds within MSF to support fieldwork

Each MSF office is attached to one of the five operational centres that manages our humanitarian action in the field and decide when, where, and what medical care is needed. MSF HK, as one of the MSF offices, also plays a part in providing the staff, resources and budget to the MSF Operational Centres, so that they can maintain MSF's field projects and to ensure we are working where we are needed most.
 
Each MSF project is managed and delivered by an Operational Centre with corresponding budget shared by offices, including MSF HK, and set success measures that reflect the nature of the particular project. These are reviewed and revised at regular intervals to ensure that our response is effectively improving our patients' situation. 

 

Where MSF HK funds were allocated in 2020

Each year an audited financial report for MSF HK is made public together with our HK Activity Report to give details on our activities and expenditure in each country and region and reflects on the major challenges we faced over the year. 

In 2020, a total of HKD 297,065,138 has been allocated from MSF HK for MSF emergency and medical programmes globally. The countries that received the largest fund from MSF HK were Democratic Republic of Congo, South Sudan, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, Yemen, Lebanon, Nigeria and India. MSF has been around in these countries for decades as chronic armed conflicts and disease outbreaks have made it difficult for the population to get vital medical care. 
 
Whereas in Hong Kong, our operation team has been responding to the COVID-19 outbreak and conducting health promotion and mental health workshops to support the vulnerable communities such as people experiencing homelessness, the elderly, foreign domestic helpers, and others. You may access simple coping strategies to relieve stress and anxiety here: howareyou.msf.hk.

 

MSF principles

The way we raise and spend money upholds our core principles – independence, neutrality and impartiality. MSF Hong Kong does not receive funding from the China or Hong Kong governments; 99.7 percent of our donations come from private donors, like you.

This means they come with no strings attached and allow us to provide medical care where the need is greatest. It is you, our donors, who fuel MSF's work. Thank you.

 

We are open to receive your feedback and suggestions to improve our work. 

For details of our worldwide projects, please refers to our Activity Report.

for the Activity Report

如何運用捐款

作為無國界醫生的捐款者,你的一分一毫協助我們為身處世界不同角落,有需要的人提供醫療援助。

你的慷慨支持,幫助我們每年提供數以百萬次診症、手術、治療和疫苗接種。我們盡力使捐款發揮最大效用,援助最有需要人士。以下是無國界醫生於2020全球前線工作概要:

 

進行9,904,200次門診診症
協助306,800次分娩,包括剖腹生產
1,008,500人接種麻疹疫苗
以應對疫症爆發
接收877,300人次入院治療
醫治2,690,600宗瘧疾個案
接收64,300名嚴重營養不良兒童
接受住院營養治療

 

 

但我們是如何做到呢?我們直接提供醫療服務,而非透過當地夥伴組織執行。我們自行設立和營運醫療服務,培訓員工,並應付突發緊急情況和長期危機。你的慷慨捐贈會全數交由無國界醫生使用。

無國界醫生(香港)收到你的慷慨捐助後,我們會首先把款項存入銀行,然後直接用於援助最有需要的國家或地區。款項由無國界醫生各地的辦事處負責協調,並分配到超過70個國家的項目。

 

基本開支

每家機構都必須承擔基本開支,而香港辦公室於2020年的營運成本僅佔捐款額的4.1%。

此外,我們把7.8%的捐款額用於籌款,以確保有穩定的資金來源,應付醫療行動開支。扣除基本開支和募捐成本後,捐款餘額將全數用於醫療援助。

我們香港辦公室的每項營運細節,均旨在降低基本開支。我們租用較廉價的辦公室,只以最便宜方式出行,出國也只會入住廉價旅館。

 

應急儲備

每當發生緊急情況,例如地震、疫症和衝突,無國界醫生往往可以立即行動,因為我們鼓勵捐贈者作非指定用途捐款,方便我們把捐款用於最需要的地方。

有賴捐贈者慷慨解囊,無國界醫生擁有緊急儲備資金,金額能支持數個月的救援行動支出,因此我們毋須因等待政府撥款或發起籌款呼籲而延遲行動。我們可立即展開救援,並在稍後以全新的非指定用途捐款補充儲備,以應對未來的危機。

捐款到達醫療項目後,項目團隊會細心管理款項。我們遵守嚴格的會計制度,收支每分每毫都記錄在案,並把財務資料送交總部和捐贈者,因為保持透明和問責至為重要。

如非肯定捐款能用於應對特定危機,我們不會發起緊急呼籲。我們也不會利用隱藏的免責條款把資金轉往組織的其他部門。

 

分配經費以支援前線項目

無國界醫生在全球設有5個行動中心,負責管理無國界醫生在前線的各個人道救援項目,決定在何時、何地和如何提供醫療援助。而每個辦事處,包括無國界醫生(香港)辦事處,都分別與其中一個行動中心緊密連接,協助所屬的行動中心招募人手及籌募經費,以維持無國界醫生全球項目的運作,能為最有需要的人群提供援助。
 
各行動中心會因應各個前線救援項目的性質,依照相關準則管理和分配經費予不同的項目。相關經費由包括無國界醫生各地的辦事處,包括香港辦事處分擔,比例不一。各行動中心定期作出檢討和修訂,確保團隊能迅速有效地行動,改善病人的情況。

 

2020年無國界醫生(香港)的經費分配

無國界醫生(香港)每年都會公布經審核的財務報告和活動報告,詳細說明其於過去一年在各個國家和地區的活動和支出,反映無國界醫生該年在世界各地所面對的重大挑戰。
 
2020年,無國界醫生(香港)撥出合計297,065,138港元,支援全球多個緊急及醫療救援項目,當中大部分經費用於剛果民主共和國、南蘇丹、孟加拉、阿富汗、也門、黎巴嫩、尼日利亞和印度的項目。無國界醫生早在數十年前已在這些國家展開救援工作,當地的人們長期面對武裝衝突和疫症爆發,難以獲得所需的醫療護理。
 
我們的團隊於2020年在香港應對2019冠狀病毒病(COVID-19),為脆弱社群提供健康教育和心理健康工作坊,對象包括無家者、長者、外籍傭工等。我們也設立了心理健康網站,為大眾提供應對壓力和焦慮的小錦囊,詳情請瀏覽:howareyou.msf.hk

 

無國界醫生的宗旨

不論籌款募捐,還是使用捐款,我們都堅持宗旨 – 獨立、中立和不偏不倚。無國界醫生(香港)並無接受中國或香港特區政府的資助,99.5%的捐款來自私人捐款者,例如你。

捐款並不附帶任何條件,所以我們可以在最需要的地方提供醫療服務。全賴你熱心支持,成就無國界醫生工作。謝謝大家。

 

你的意見和建議將有利於改善我們的工作,我們十分樂意聆聽。

如欲了解更多有關我們的工作,可參閱我們的活動報告。

下載活動報告